ants chased me off the deck…

FullSizeRender-26

 We had so much fun! At first it was only going to be the kids and I at my husband’s impromptu barbeque (those are my favorites), but my son Jonathan got so excited he shared the good news with his little friend – not the gospel, I wish he would be as eager to share God’s good news, please pray for him – then his friend asked his dad “can we go to Jonathan’s barbeque”, his dad decided it was a great idea and even brought food, Haha!

We hadn’t used the deck all summer, we have been so busy traveling for Bible Quizzing and vacation and hosting and weddings and back to school, and preparing for Hyphen Conference (let me pause here to emphatically say that this Saturday, September 12th, UAT is the place to be! 20524 Hollis Ave., Jamaican NY 11412. NY Metro District Hyphen Conference Synergy!!!) And, we may not have used it at all if we weren’t having guests over. So as was my yearly custom when spring rolls around – only this time it was the end of summer, I grab my dishwashing liquid, an old broom and my hose and got to work scrubbing and washing the deck. The kids enjoy helping with the hose and I love it because I know its clean and the kids and I can run around bare feet without worry 🙂

IMG_3737 copy

So our little barbecue turned into a wonderful time fellowshipping with brothers and sisters of like precious faith. I was a little concerned because even after four (4) years of living here we still had no patio furniture. My husband ran to BJ’s and picked up 2 additional chairs – we already had two that we travel with in our car – to put out on the deck. Our friends could not have cared less that we had no  “patio furniture”, everyone just walked around and had a great time.

This morning because I hadn’t use it in such a long time, after the kids left for school I decided to read my bible on the deck. before long I was brushing ants off the chairs and skipping like a crazy woman towards the back door trying to avoid stepping on them, WHAT?!?! A body can’t relax without getting attacked, ugh!

They came for the spilled juice that I couldn’t see but they could smell, and the yummy smell of little barbecue oil splatters from the grill. So you know what I had to do? You guessed it! I had to wash the deck again! Off I went to get my broom, dishwashing liquid and water. Needless to say my hands are officially sore, don’t ask how I’m able to type this blog post, I have no idea, Haha!

Close up of the peppers my kids are nurtured from a tiny leaf bud...

Close up of the peppers my kids nurtured from a tiny leaf bud…

So as you can see, I’m blogging again… We’ll see where this goes, but my heart is to encourage you in prayer, fasting and studying the word of God. I hope also to be encouraged by you. We are living in a time when the church needs to stick together, there is no question about it. United we stand divided we fall.  I do hope this is a place you will visit often 🙂 See you soon for some more happenings in your life and mine on Apostolic Talk!

Paula

2 thoughts on “ants chased me off the deck…

  1. My kiddos would have loved playing with the ants. Little lady how’s looking for them with her magnifying glass. Serious little Dr she is.

    Great post Paula!

Leave a Reply

